Creation in Death by J.D. Robb

Title: Creation in Death
Author: J.D. Robb
Obtained: bought || image obtained from J.D. Robb website (saved to server)
Berkley Mass Market Paperback
Rating: 4/5

Blurb

(from amazon.com) It’s 2060, and the serial killer nicknamed The Groom is back in town after an absence of nine years, resuming his horrific run of kidnapping, torturing and killing young women. Dallas, who served as a detective in the frustrating first investigation, assumes lead role in this one. This time, not only do the killer’s chosen victims have ties to Dallas’s husband, Roarke, but Dallas herself may be the killer’s ultimate target. Swiftly paced, the story cuts frequently from the investigation to the killer’s progress with his victims. Dallas works to outplan, outfight and outsmart the killer; to keep her handsome, rich husband happy; and to be ready for the next round after a good night’s sleep. Robb’s latest is bound to please Dallas fans.

The Cover

I don’t know why some publishers need to make the author’s name the largest portion of the cover. The tiny little images on the bottom all correspond to some part of the story: the time, the spilled tea, and the knife. Everything in that little image ties together nicely, and it’s not overdone. I just wish the bottom image was bigger, and the author’s name was smaller.

The Plot

Believe it or not, this is the first mystery book I’ve ever picked up. I think, if I remember correctly, I picked it up because of the Stephen King quote on the cover. I’ve never even read a Nora Roberts book. Considering this is the 25th book in the series, I felt a little lost with some of the acronyms and terminology, but I got used to it quickly. After all, the book is set in the year 2060, so I expected a little bit of term usage that I wouldn’t be able to identify with. The J.D. Robb website offers a handy glossary of lingo from the book.

Despite never having opened any previous book in the In Death series, I was able to keep up with characters. Robb gently reminds readers who each character is in relation to Dallas — Rourke, her mysterious husband; Peabody, her partner, and so on. I didn’t, at any time, feel like I was completely lost. The book kept returning to the idea of the Urban Wars. Other than the idea that the War was extremely violent and lead to a significant loss of life, the Urban Wars go mostly unexplained, with the exception of a few short paragraphs here and there detailing whatever the reader might need to know.

The plot kept me on my toes. I suspect, however, that if mystery were your favorite type of book, you might be able to figure out the who-dun-it before Lt. Dallas and her crew. Robb takes us through, step by step, how the PD (or, in the case of the book, the NYPSD) goes about solving homicides: how they think and react to the victims and how the anticipate the suspect’s next moves.

The only real issue that I had was the writing itself. It’s short and choppy, but I found that Dallas spoke exactly like the unnamed narrator: short, choppy sentences that didn’t really flow for me. I couldn’t really get a feel for Dallas through her dialogue. I got to know her more through her actions–her willingness to overlook necessities such as eating and sleeping to get the job done, the fact that she takes her work home with her and refuses to let it go, and even going so far as to putting herself in harm’s way, all paint a picture of a determined, head-strong woman.

If I get the chance, I’ll be picking up more of the In Death series.

Leave a Reply

