weekly: currently reading

Each weekend (probably Saturday, but possibly on Sunday, depending on how my days are going), I’ll do a quick post about what I’m currently reading, how far I am into it, and a quick few sentences on what I think about it.

Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto

For the Japanese Lit Challenge. I’m not very far into it (only about 20 pages so far), but I really like it. The writing flows really smoothly, especially for a translation (the original text was in Japanese).

One thought on “weekly: currently reading

  1. Bellezza says:

    Welcome to the JLC4 Challenge! I’m so glad you’ve decided to participate, and what a worthy choice of Banana Yoshimoto. I’d first read her novel Kitchen, then Good-bye Tsugumi, then N.P. I hear great things about Asleep, too, but I haven’t picked it up yet. She does such a wonderful job in portraying her characters; I always feel as if I’ve really met them. I’m off to add you to the review site, and I look forward to your thoughts as you post about Japanese works you read.

Leave a Reply

