challenge: Stephen King/Richard Bachman

I mentioned on one of my pages (I think it was my Challenges page) that I have a personal goal to read all of King/Bachman’s books. Apparently, so did Meaghan at Book Geeks. (Not only do I want to read them all, I want to own copies of all of them.)

The original text, from Book Geek:

I recently fell in love with Stephen King. And, without a challenge to get my butt in gear, I will never read all of his books. Really. I am that much of a procrastinator. And yes, I realize I am lazy. 😀 But hey, hard work pays off in the future. Laziness pays off now. 😀
The object of this perpetual challenge is to read EVERY SINGLE book by Stephen King or his pseudonym, Richard Bachman. A complete list can be found here. If you have trouble finding the limited edition books, that’s okay.

Anyway, so I looked and I couldn’t find any challenges like this one. So I thought “Hey! Why don’t I challenge people to read every one of his books and promote my blog?” And thus, this challenge was born.

ALSO: If you don’t want to, you don’t have to re-read the books you have already read.

ALSO ALSO: If you want to watch all the movies, too, go ahead. I won’t stop you.

ALSO ALSO ALSO: Go ahead and review all of the books, too, if you want!

There are no time limits. Take as loooooong as you want with this challenge…

The list is below the cut. It includes 61 books. I didn’t include graphic novels (with one exception), short stories that were released outside of anthologies, or any re-prints of novels or collections. Most of the short stories Stephen King has published in magazines or by themselves have been included in one of his anthologies somewhere. Four Bachman novels were published in a collection, The Bachman Books, which I have not added to the list. Instead, I listed each novel independently, with their original release date.

Meaghan, on her challenge page, states that there are 64 books. Because I have left out some graphic novels (mainly notable: Creepshow) and do not include the first two listed (as noted on the list), I have a total of 61 works.

The list is sorted by release date. For a full list, including short-stories that were e-published, please see here.

Progress: owned: 28/61 read: 29/61

You know the drill. I bold the ones I own, strike through the ones I’ve read.

People, Places, and Things vol. 1 (1960)
The Star Invaders (limited edition) (1964)
(I don’t include the above in a collection because they pre-date Mr. King becoming published by a big-time publishing company. Carrie is widely considered to be his first published novel.)

Carrie (1974)
‘Salem’s Lot (1975)
The Shining (1977)
Rage (1977) (Richard Bachman) (out of print)
Night Shift(1978) (short stories)
The Stand (1978)
The Long Walk (1979) (Richard Bachman)
The Dead Zone (1979)
Firestarter (1980)
Roadwork(1981) (Richard Bachman)
Danse Macabre (1981) (non-fiction)
Cujo (1981)
The Running Man (1982)
Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger (1982)
Different Seasons (1982) (short stories)
Christine (1983)
Pet Sematary (1983)
Cycle of the Werewolf (1983) (graphic novel)
The Talisman (1984) (co-authored with Peter Straub)
Thinner (1984) (Richard Bachman)
Skeleton Crew (1985) (short stories)

It (1986)
The Eyes of the Dragon (1987)
Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three (1987)
Misery (1987)
The Tommyknockers (1987)
The Dark Half (1989)
Four Past Midnight (1990)
Dark Tower III: The Wastelands (1991)
Needful Things (1991)
Gerald’s Game (1992)
Dolores Claiborne (1993)
Nightmares and Dreamscapes (1993)
Insomnia (1994)

Rose Madder (1995)
The Green Mile (1996) (originally published in 6 parts as a serial novel)
Desperation (1996)
The Regulators (1996) (Richard Bachman)
Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass (1997)
Bag of Bones (1998)
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (1999)
Hearts in Atlantis (1999)

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft (2000) (non-fiction)
Secret Windows (2000) (non-fiction)
Dreamcatcher (2001)
Black House (2001) (co-authored with Peter Straub)
Everything’s Eventual (2002) (short stories)
From a Buick 8 (2002)
Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla (2003)
Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah (2004)
Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower (2004)
Faithful (2004) (non-fiction)
The Colorado Kid (2005)
Cell (2006)
Lisey’s Story (2006)

Blaze (2007) (Richard Bachman)
Duma Key (2008)

Just After Sunset (2008)
Under the Dome (2009)
Blockade Billy (2010)
Full Dark, No Stars (2010) (short stories)

3 thoughts on “challenge: Stephen King/Richard Bachman

  1. Bellezza says:

    This would fit in nicely with Carl’s R.I.P. V (Reader’s Imbibing Peril) challenge which runs from now until October 31. For more information about his challenge, click here.

    • Jen says:

      I thought about doing that, but I have so much going on between now and October 31, I doubt I’ll even get around to reading any SK until after. Having no deadline is really helpful for me. 🙂

  2. Dougie92 says:

    I am down to needing 11 of the 54 (excluding non ficiton, graphic novels, and screen plays) I’m currently reading The Shining and Misery and have read Dreamcatcher, IT, The Green Mile, Full Dark, No Stars. I’m not really doing a challenge just casually collecting a reading.

Leave a Reply

