Book Blogger Hop Oct 15-18 [2]

Book Blogger Hop

In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!  So, grab the logo, post about the Hop on your blog, and start HOPPING through the list of blogs that are posted in the Linky list below!!

This week’s question comes from Christina at The Paperback Princesses:

“When you read a book that you just can’t get into, do you stick it out and keep reading or move to your next title?”

It all depends on whether I’m wanting to review the book or not. I’ve definitely done this in the past, when the dust jacket (or back cover) gives a misleading summary of the book. I have actually dropped a book within the first five pages before–not because the writing was terrible, but because I probably looked the author up on wiki or the book on wiki, and realized the summary was misleading (I have noticed that Frank Peretti’s books are like this). I would have purposely avoided said books if the summaries had been straight-forward.
However, if I’m planning on reviewing the book, I’ll stick it out. I won’t review a book if I didn’t finish it. I know some bloggers will, and they will use “DNF” as their “rating”, but I feel I can’t give a book a fair review if I don’t finish it.
That said, it’s been a long time since I’ve actually put a book down because I didn’t enjoy it.

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop Oct 15-18 [2]

  1. Happy Follow Friday!!! Hope you will stop by my blog too! My publisher and I are looking for a group of bloggers for a huge blog tour next year before the release of book two in my ‘A Sense of Truth’ series! We will be giving out a few more copies of The Thirteenth Chime (we can only give out so many, being open to e-books gives an upper hand) and are still open to all interviews and guest posts. We want to fill up the Amazon page with reviews and try to reach as many people as we can!!! Hope you might consider being a part of the team! Thank you either way!

    Sincerely,
    Emma Michaels
    Emma_Michaels@hotmail.com
    http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com

  2. Heather says:

    What’s a book you’ve dropped in the first five pages?

    The bit about the back of the book not being correct, that actually happened to me with Flora Segunda… the back of the book makes it look like a totally different read (one I didn’t want to read), but the person at the bookstore *really* recommended it, so I bought it and read it, and it was AMAZING! I think, especially in YA, they are so focused on presenting a certain type of story that is currently popular, that they warp the descriptions on the backs of books that aren’t quite that way to make them appeal to folks looking for that kind of story. Which is sad.

    Check out my Blog Hop and Follow Friday HERE!

    • Jen says:

      I actually dropped “Monster” by Frank Peretti after 3 pages when I realized it was something other than what the dust jacket said.

      I agree about them warping summaries to fit the current trends. It’s sad if that’s the only way they can get readers, but at the same time I’m hoping that people won’t put those books down just because they don’t really follow those trends. I’m starting to shy away from those books, especially the recent ones that are following the Twilight format; it’s been done, I read it, and everything else is going to seem like I’m re-reading Twilight, which I have no interest in doing. lol
      Hopping over to your blog now!

Leave a Reply

