Book Blogger Hop Nov. 5-8 [4]

Book Blogger Hop

It’s that time again! Jennifer over at Crazy for Books hosts the Book Blogger Hop every week. This week, in addition to the latest question, she’s issued a challenge.

“What are your feelings on losing followers? Have you ever stopped following a blog?”
(from Vicki at The Wolf’s Den)

And the challenge, from Jennifer:

BLOG HOP CHALLENGE: With this in mind, I have a challenge for you. This challenge will take some dedication on your part this week. I want you to find ONE blog in the Hop list that you genuinely WANT to follow (try to find a new blog, if you can!) and make at least 5 comments on their blog this week on 5 different posts. Get to know this blogger and what they post about. Next week, as part of your Hop post, I want you to post about your experience with this challenge. Just tell us what you thought of the challenge, who you found to follow and link to the posts that you commented on I hope you will participate and help us all to build our community! Let’s dig a little deeper and get to know each other! Remember, the point is to be genuine! Not to follow for the sake of following! Because, if you are genuine, you are much more likely to get people to follow you back. Trust me on this.

I don’t really have any feelings on losing followers. I know it’s bad to say, but I completely understand if people lose interest. Sometimes people get drawn in to one particular article (or, in my case, review), and then lose interest because I haven’t reviewed anything in a while that they think they’ll like (or that they read, so they can weigh in on the subject). I’ve been there. It’s understandable and I can’t hold it against anyone.

WordPress doesn’t track independent hits on my blog, just how many times people visit, and where they come from. Google Friend Connect doesn’t work with WordPress, so that’s useless for me, too. With the exception of people who receive subscriptions, I have no idea who actually follows my blog, and how many out there are repeat-offenders on my hit counters. I’m hoping there are some repeat-offenders, but it could just be wishful thinking.

I’ve never un-followed a blog. I visit some blogs more than others, but that’s just how I work. I have a limited time to surf the internet, and I try to get down my blog roll at least once a day, but sometimes it takes a couple days. I visit some blogs more than once a week. Why? Sometimes it’s because they have insightful reviews and/or discussion, and sometimes it’s for other reasons. But I do try to visit all the blogs on my blog roll each week, at least once.

As far as the challenge goes, I’m pretty sure I can do it if I set my mind to it. I’ve got a couple of blogs on my blog roll right now that I found through the Blog Hop. Here’s hoping I can find another one.

(And just as a quick NaNoWriMo update: I’m about 3 days behind on my word count, but I’ll catch up. I type about 70+ words per minute, so for every 10 minutes I write, I’m cranking out anywhere between 700 and 900 words, which is decent. I wish I could get that 900 over 1,000, just once.)

6 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop Nov. 5-8 [4]

  1. Tiger Holland says:

    Hopping by to visit! I had wondered how the wordpress blogs got their info and stats on visitors–thank you for giving me the rundown. 🙂 Good luck on NaNoWriMo. I did it last year, and it’s tremendous fun.

    • Jen says:

      This is actually my fourth year doing NaNo. I think I’m going to stop participating in it after this year. It’s a lot of fun, but it’s so time consuming and I feel bogged down. I’m having a lot more fun reading right now. Maybe next year I’ll change my mind, though.

      I’m not exactly good at time management. lol

  2. I think the number of hits makes me more happy than followers (which, like you point out, is hard to track on WordPress)- that’s what drives me!
    Interested to hear what you think of We Need to Talk About Kevin- it’s sitting in my TBR pile.

    • Jen says:

      I’m struggling through that book. I’m less than half-way in, but I’ll definitely post a review for it when I’m done.

  3. So glad to have found you via the Hop. I think you’ve got the right attitude about followers. It happens. You can’t control it. The best thing is to be yourself and blog the way YOU want to. Have a great weekend! And good luck with NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

