Week in Review [1]

This week, I picked up a few books, had a couple of e-mails from the library (which did not thrill me at all), and dropped a couple of other books off at the library.

Books I received in the mail (ordered from barnesandnoble.com bargain books):

               

Shadows of Ashland by Terence M. Green
I surfed B&N.com’s bargain-priced books for books that just looked plain interesting. The cover on this one caught my eye, so I checked out the summary before I requested it be sent to me. I haven’t read anything except the summary, so I don’t know if it comes highly recommended, but I hope to enjoy it.

Leviathan by Scott Westerfield (Leviathan #1)
I’ve never read steampunk (gasp! the horror!), so I figured that this is a good place to start. I’m dying to get my hands on Soulless and the rest of the series, but until then, I’ll work through this one.

Jennifer’s Body by Diablo Cody
No, I haven’t seen the movie. In fact, let me just say: The girl I work with says the movie is stupid (her words exactly). I tried explaining to her that the movie wasn’t supposed to be scary (Okay, so the marketing team failed); it was supposed to be a kind of spoof on horror movies. I don’t think my explanation has soothed her thoughts any, but I’m dying to break open this book.

Wake by Lisa McMann (Dream #1)
Honestly, I have no idea what this book is about. I caught part of the summary on B&N.com, said, “I want it,” and added it to the cart. Here’s hoping I enjoy it.

I reviewed:
Mary Higgins Clark, Before I Say Good-bye for the Queen of Suspense challenge
Lionel Shriver, We Need to Talk About Kevin

I also read:
Cecelia Ahern, P.S. I Love You

I didn’t pick up any books from the library this week, since I was dog-sitting over the past few days, and at the time I still had three books to finish. I have since read one of them, and am currently working on the second.

I Am Currently Reading:
The Thirteenth Tale, Diane Setterfield [will review]
Sophie’s Choice, William Styron

NaNoWriMo Update
I’ve managed to come out ahead in my word count (I’m currently above what I should be), and I plan to stay that way!

I got two e-mails from the library system, reminding me that my books were due. I was, at first, confused. One e-mail stated that I owed them two books that I had dropped off last Wednesday (10 November). The e-mail was dated the 12th. My brain sputtered, stopped, and I had to kick-start it again before I resolved to check my library account online before calling them to question their sanity.
The second e-mail (which went to a different e-mail account, by the way, another matter that confused me), reminded me that three books were due that I had renewed (again, on Wednesday).
My account online says I’m up-to-date, that the books I had requested for renewal had been renewed, and the other two had been removed from my account. I decided not to call the library.

(There are several “mailbox” style memes floating around; one of the larger ones, In My Mailbox, is hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. I just wanted to give credit where it’s due for my “books I got” section on the week in review.)

Leave a comment