week in review [4]

I’ve been kind of busy the past week, so I didn’t get much done in terms of reviews and reading. I’m also going to be in the process of moving in the coming month, so updates will be sporadic at best.

I picked up three new books over the week from Target:

       

  • Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead: (Book 6 in the Vampire Academy series) The final installment of the VA series, and I read it so fast I feel like it still isn’t over. The ending was good, delicious, and as always, Rose was causing trouble. I’m looking forward to the spin-off series, but I’m still going to miss Rose, Dimitri, Lissa, Christian and Adrian.
  • Crave by J.R. Ward: (Book 2 in the Fallen Angels series) I picked up book 2 so I can be sure to read book 1, which is on a couple of my challenge lists.
  • Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning: (Book 4 in the Fever series) I picked up book 4 for the same reason I picked up Crave: an assurance that I’ll read at least the first one.

A lot of reviews were posted this week; I typed them all and scheduled them last Saturday. I had wanted to spread them out a little, to try to get through the week.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Afterlight by Elle Jasper
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner

Upcoming reviews:

Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan (Shadow World #1)
Kitty and the Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn (Kitty Norville series #1)

Challenges
I don’t usually talk about the challenges I’ve joined, but since this will probably be my last week in review until after the holidays, I figure I could talk about all the challenges I’ve entered for the upcoming year, and the ones that are currently active. I realized that I’ve started taking the easy way out and reading a lot of YA this year, so I wanted to change that and read more adult fiction. In the challenge lists are some YA, but I tried to keep it to a minimum. I’m sure I’ll read enough YA on my own.

101 Fantasy Reading Challenge A perpetual challenge to encourage me to read more fantasy novels.
Stephen King/Richard Bachman Challenge A perpetual challenge featuring Stephen King’s works.
The Queen of Suspense Challenge 2010 A current challenge, ending August 31, 2011, featuring Mary Higgins Clark novels. So far I’ve read two, I have two more in my stack at home, and I’m planning on reading six by the end of the challenge. Maybe more, if time allows.
Amazon’s Best of 2010 Ending November 31, 2011. A lot of these books, if I don’t purchase them, will have to be placed on the wait list for next year at the library. They are all very popular books. I am going to attempt twenty books, ten from each list, and I have a few alternates just in case.
The 2011 Book Blogger Recommendation challenge Hosted by Reading With Tequila; I am reading at the level III, or 15 books. If I have time, I’ll add to the list and up the level, but I think 15 is a good amount, considering how many other books I’m planning to read.
The 2011 Stephen King Challenge Hosted by Book Chick City; I know I already have one Stephen King challenge going, but I’m going to try to read all the SK I can, and I have at least seven at home that I haven’t read yet, including IT, which creeped me out when I saw the two-part TV mini-series. Not to mention, this one has a deadline, so it will push me further towards my goal of reading all the SK novels.
The 2011 Urban Fantasy Challenge Hosted by Book Junkie’s Bookshelf; I love urban fantasy. So much so, I’m challenging myself to read 25 books in this category this year.
The 2011 Chick Lit Challenge Hosted by Journey to the End of the TBR Pile; Eight books in this challenge, and I haven’t picked them yet. I definitely will as I go along.
The Dystopia Challenge Hosted by Bookish Ardour; I’m only reading five for this challenge, and only two have been selected.
The Gothic Reading Challenge Hosted by Susan B. Evans; Ten books for this one, six of which have been chosen.
The Wish I Read That Challenge Hosted by My Love Affair With Books; Twenty books for this one; my goal is to read twenty books that aren’t on any of my other challenge lists.

That is a lot of challenges! Here’s hoping I can get through them all.

Have a happy holidays, everyone. See you in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

