Book Blogger Hop Jan. 14-17 [6]

Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books.

This week’s question comes from Barb at Sugarbeat’s Books:

“Why do you read the genre that you do?  What draws you to it?”

 

I try not to stick to one genre. When I first started reading, I read mostly horror. I blame this on my dad, who had a great collection of Stephen King. School opened my mind up a little to other books, particularly the dystopian novels and a few other classics that I enjoyed. Since then, I’ve broadened my horizons even more, and I’ve opened up to chick lit, urban fantasy/paranormal romance and mystery, although horror will probably always be my favorite genre. As far as what draws me to it, I really can’t say. I could use the excuse that it’s what I’ve always read, but that’s exactly what it is: an excuse. There’s something about characters being in peril, not knowing if they’ll make it out of the situation they find themselves in, that draws me. It’s not the guts and gore, it’s the character’s actions and re-actions.

Beyond horror, I try not to get drawn into a genre too much. I’m starting to really like urban fantasy and paranormal romance (both of the adult and young adult variety; I’m not picky), but I’m not sure what draws me to it yet. I just know I like it.

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop Jan. 14-17 [6]

  1. Alison says:

    Hopping through. I’ve never been a horror person, but from experience if I read one good book, I can get hooked on the whole genre.
    My Hop

  2. I like YA too at the moment – not one particular area though. I’m pretty eclectic as well but I tend to stay away from horror so far. 🙂

  3. I like to read random books from all kinds of genres. I let my mood pick more often then not.

    Black Disaster Fairy
    A World of Personality

Leave a Reply

