Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Title: Hex Hall
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Obtained: borrowed from library
Publisher: Hyperion Books
Format: hardback
Rating: 3/5
Read for: 2011 Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.
By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect. (from dust jacket)

 

My Thoughts

The book started slowly for me, but it picked up pace quickly and by the time I was 3/4 of the way through, I couldn’t put it down.
I had a hard time starting it because, despite the interesting premise, the book itself just couldn’t hold my attention. I felt like I was reading a recap of last week’s episode: “Last week, on Hex Hall.” Really, it didn’t start picking up momentum until almost halfway through the book. The first half was like a trip back to high school for me.
Although I did find this quote on page 277 hilarious: “‘my gaping chest wound, let me show you it.'” Really, I almost died laughing. I wanted to go create a LOLcat image for it. It was just so wildly out of place from the rest of the book, but it was also appropriate for the scene.
Overall, I thought the book was okay. I’m interested enough to want to read the sequel, Demonglass.

4 thoughts on “Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

  1. nlmars says:

    When I first picked this book up, I was fairly skeptical, but I found myself loving it.
    I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel.
    Great review! šŸ™‚

  2. […] Books from the Addict by Jen – “Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins“ […]

  3. Marce says:

    Jen, I have a suprise for you, come over.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2011/04/challenge-update-and-winner.html

    Send me an email šŸ™‚

    Marce

  4. karolina says:

    I love, love, love this book!!! I think the sequel’s AMAZING, and i cant wait for the fourth book to come out!!

Leave a Reply

