Review: Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

Title: Revolution
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Obtained: borrowed from library
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Format: hardback
Rating: 3.5/5
Read for: Amazon Best of 2010 Challenge

Brooklyn: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.
Paris: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fatal encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want–and couldn’t escape.
Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages–until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present.

My Thoughts

It took me almost a week to get through this book. Not because it’s a particularly difficult read in terms of language, but because I was just not interested. It took almost half the book before I was interested, and by that point I was ready to put it down and put a DNF (did not finish) on the rating.
Andi comes across as a self-centered, rich, spoiled brat, and that’s mostly because she is. She speaks to her headmistress at her private school however she pleases, and in Andi’s case, she’s rather rude. She back-talks her father. She smokes pot, because she’s bored and it’s the “thing” to do.
It wasn’t until Andi comes across Alexandrine’s diary that I began to get interested, and I was more interested in Alex’s story than I was Andi’s. I just couldn’t bring myself to care about Andi’s self-pity party, but Alex’s story about the king and queen of France, and the Dauphin, was a lot more interesting and I found myself looking forward to the diary entries.
Overall, I thought the book was okay. It was an interesting read, but I found it hard to identify with the main character.

Leave a Reply

